COLD WINTER!!!

Hello fellow bloggers, family and friends:

I am not sure when I moved to Washington State I knew what the definition of cold winters was.  I am finding out exactly what that definition means.  I have lived in a lot of cold places but I’m beginning to think that those places wasn’t really cold or at least a different kind of cold.  I still haven’t bought a coat yet for Misty or I but that will be fixed this coming payday.  Tonight the temperature is in the lower 30’s but it feels like it is 19 degrees.  The wind is out of the north and the chill of that winds feels like you in the north of Chicago and have lake wind coming off and for us have lived in and around the lakes you know what I’m talking about for those of you who have not it is dang COLD and that is the best way to describe it.

Winter when trees lose all their leaves and the grass quits growing and everything starts turning brown and the wind gets to freeze, the white stuff starts falling and it makes the highways and the roads a mess.  People starts using their fireplaces, cutting up wood, but best of all everyone is still friendly at least the ones I have meet here in Washington.  Maybe the few I haven’t yet met yet are too but I haven’t meet them so I don’t know.  Sometimes I feel like I’m in Texas because people wave and smile at you even when they don’t know you.

I will miss the holidays at home this year but I think that in the long run I will enjoy being here more than in Texas and who knows I might just get my head together and invite people from the base or somewhere so that they can have the holidays somewhere because they can’t go home at this time.  My Mom would say it would be the thing to do because she has had people over when they couldn’t go home.  Misty and I would be starting our own traditions and it just might be fun too.

I talked with Stan the Man not to long ago and it seems that a lot of my friends think I’m back in Texas and living some place there but just not calling my friends well guys and gals I hate to bust you’re bubble but I’m not in Texas anywhere I’m really in the state of Washington and I’m loving every minute of it and I’m even thinking that Misty is enjoying her time here as well.  Now that is something in it self because we never enjoy the same thing at the same time so in the case it is really cool.

For those of you who don’t live in Washington or any of the really cold states where they have snow, ice and slick roads be thankful that your not having bad weather but then in my way of thinking it wouldn’t be the holidays either.

5 thoughts on “COLD WINTER!!!

  1. Hi Kat, welcome to Washington. If you don’t mind the excessive rain, Washington is a beautiful state to live in. Normally, we get a lot of rain and wind this time of the year. The excessive sun and cold temperature lately is not the norm. I live in the greater Seattle area. Where are you? Maybe we can go for a photo walk when my broken leg heals.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Emily, I live in Shelton my youngest daughter and I have been here since the 3rd of May and I have loved Washington since I was TDY here in 1984 I think it could have been early in the 1980 but that part doesn’t matter I was here teaching a disaster class and it rained 22 days straight in Seattle I was on a fellow sailors boat which is near the naval base I stayed there and checked out a few tourist hang-outs. But now I’m here and I’m really liking it except it is really chiller than I remember of course I was here in July-August so not cold yet.
      I think that might be fun I’m trying to figure out a good time to go to Seattle to stay a few days so let me know and I will see if I can work it around your schedule me I’m flexible just a little anyway and it would be fun. Take care and I really hope that your leg heals good and you are able to get back to your busy schedule yourself. Kat

      Like

  2. Shoot! I just realize none of my comments have been posting here. I was replying to the email notification, and on some blogs that becomes comments. So sorry. I have been reading! Stay warm! Sounds like you’re having an interesting and fun adventure in your new home

    Like

  3. bundle up – getting cold here too, unfortunately!!

    On Sat, Nov 15, 2014 at 12:06 AM, redsoxlady35 wrote:

    > mlblogsredsoxlady35 posted: “Hello fellow bloggers, family and > friends: I am not sure when I moved to Washington State I knew what the > definition of cold winters was. I am finding out exactly what that > definition means. I have lived in a lot of cold places but I’m beginning > to t”

    Like

Tell me what you think.

