Memorial Day

Hello fellow bloggers,family and friends:

     I am a little behind this time because I have had a few other things on my mind however I don’t normal miss my annual Memorial day means to me.  First I would like to thank all you soldiers and your family for your service not only to your country but to family, friends and all the other people in the USA.  I want to wish my brother Mark and my friend Garry a belated birthday.  At the beginning I stated that the reason I was late was that I had other things on my mind well today is the second anniversary of the passing of my husband who lost his fight against Lung Cancer in 2012 on May 30.  I know when he passed away Mark came home from work and I think somewhere deep down I knew it was his birthday but it just didn’t click because I was thinking about the pain of not having Carl there in my life anymore.  Later that night when Mark was getting ready to go to work I remember to say something to him and he told me that he wasn’t worried about me not tell him Happy Birthday because he knew deep in his heart that I was not really thinking about him and that I wasn’t the most important thought on my mind at the moment.  I have decided in this past two years since Carl has been gone that life is truly strange but if you take time to remember the people you have lost and remember the good and not to dwell on the bad that life is a heck of lot better for you and people looks up and also understands you also.

    Memorial Day is a day that we celebrate that our soldiers are going to come home or that have come home or last have given the ultimate which is their life for their country.  I can’t say that soldier’s don’t go off to war and then don’t come home because that happens a lot but they (the soldiers) are trained to take care of themselves and also their fellow soldiers.  Soldiers go to war knowing that their job puts them in harms way and that they may not come home to their love ones.  But the soldiers job is why we have the freedom to stand on the street corner and tell our politicians that we don’t like there laws and we want them to change them that is why we vote.  But we wouldn’t have that power to vote or change things we don’t like if a soldier hadn’t went to war and fought for that freedom.  I know that not all soldiers die but a lot of them do and whether they die or not their family suffer while the soldier is gone taking care of business for the USA their family is home taking care of business on the home front and going on every day to work, school, play and whatever is needed to adjust to a life without their soldier until he or she returns to life stateside.  

      Sorry about that here this old lady is rambling again.  Memorial Day to me is a celebration of what a soldier gives to his country, family, home and life but best of his willingness to know that at any moment could be his last.  Maybe the next time you see an American Soldier you might tell them thank you for your service.  If you happen to be that American Soldier and your reading this then let me tell you thank you for your service I appreciate what you and your family has done for our country and our families.  I am proud to be American and I’m so happy to have all of you soldiers in my corner and taking care of country.

     Hang in there and be good to yourself and know that I’m here thinking of all of you out there in cyberspace.  God bless the USA and God bless all of you. 

Love and understanding

Red Sox Lady 35

AKA

Kat

One thought on “Memorial Day

Tell me what you think.

