“Mars” The Cat

“Mars the Cat”

 

 

I have a cat named “Mars” He is such a wonderful and curious cat.  I have found him in places that most animals cannot even get to.  For example: he loves to play on the fireplace mantel, on top of the island of the sink, and even on the top of the TV in the living room.  “Mars” is just like a hero who has supernatural powers whom you would want in your in your corner in a very dark alley.  Throughout history cats like my “Mars” have been favorites of the Gods and Goddess to the point of worship.  My “Mars” is quite special he listens to my problems and never tells my secrets.  I’m not so sure but every now and then “Mars” seems to disappear like in a thin air but always seems to return about feeding time. While all of this is happening throughout the house that he “Mars” loves to play in. 

“Mars” is loyal cat and enjoys playing with family and his friends.  His favorite toys are his catnip mouse and playing with a plastic bag.  “Mars” is very sociable cat in as much as cats can be sociable. “Mars” is a tabby whose colors are tan, gray, and white on all feet with white below his chin.  He is very unique he has his own attitude toward all things…for example if he does not like you he will let out a furious growl and if that has not caught your attention he will furiously attack you to get his point across. 

“Mars” if he lived during Egyptian time he would have been loved and cherished by Baset the Goddess of moon and also the Goddess of cats.  (Encyclopedic of Mythica and Egyptian mythology) In Egypt time cats they were such big deals that if one died their bodies were separated and buried apart to keep from returning and haunting their masters. So even though he would be cherished and loved it might not be a such a great ideal for “Mars” to live in that time period because of how the Egyptian do away with the body of the cats. 

I beat you might wonder about his supernatural powers: he has a wonderful power that I wished I had it is the ability to read one’s mind also he has the ability to leap tall objects with little to no effort.  Sometimes having super powers gets you in lots of trouble.  Having powers all the time you sometimes take them for grant.  For example: you forget and you upset the God and Goddess with little effort.  While talking about the moon one day “Mars” was telling his friends that the moon had nothing on the sun.  The sun’s powers were brighter by far then moon and always would be.  The Goddess of moon heard the conservation and called him before the council of the Gods. “Mars” had never been in trouble before so he was not sure what to do but he knew that if he lost he would die.

“Mars” had to think about what he was going to say to the Gods and Goddess because he knew beyond anything else it would set procedure for the next generation to come.  It would also set the precedent for what was brighter the sun or moon among his cat friends and the rest of Egypt.

The God and Goddess who made up this council was Re (the god of sun), Ash (god of the desert), Horus (catchall god, son of Iris), Bastet (goddess of moon and cats), Iris (knowledge), Hathor (destruction of mankind) and last in case of tie break Meretseger (silence). “Mars” knew he was in trouble with all of these gods and goddess on the council.

“Ladies and gentlemen, Gods and Goddesses I stand before you not just a mere cat but one whose live is in jeopardy.  I want to first tell Goddess Bastet I meant no disrespect about what I said about the moon only that the sun rays were brighter in my opinion than the light of the moon at night. The moon is no less beautiful than the sun is hot or that one is more or less brighter or anything else for that matter.  I never wanted to offend the very people who can determine what will happen to me.  My fate is not only in your hands but you will be setting a new precedent for centuries to come.  If Bastet thought that I had offend her then now please God of Sun Re please don’t think I’m doing the same to you now because I’m not.  When a person and/or cat makes observations we make a point to compare one thing to another it is how we learn comparisons. If I must die I will die with honor, dignity, and most of all I hope to die with the respect of all my friends.” 

“Mars” was leaving the podium Iris stopped him and asked “are you asking us to believe that you think your young and naïve or are you asking us to believe that you did nothing wrong?”  “Mars” turn back to the podium and said I’m not asking you to think I young and naïve or that I did nothing wrong what I want you to know is that you have my fate in your hands and that no matter what I believe or don’t believe you hold the key to the answer. “Will I live or will I die.”

“Mars” did leave the podium then and walked outside where it had been raining most of the day while he waiting for six important people or seven people if it turn into a tie breaker his fate.  Few of his friends came out to meet him and tell him that thought the Gods would listen and he did a great job.  It took about forty-five minutes and the council was through and someone came to get “Mars”.  He headed for the podium again he could not tell by looking at the council what his fate was.  The Gods asked him before we tell you what will be your fate we have one question.  “If you were in the same situation would you do the same thing again?  He looked up at the council and looked them each in their faces one at a time and then he replied without any hesitation of any kind “Yes I would.”  The Gods looked at one another and then they all smiled down on “Mars” and said “Mars” you are darn lucky cat because had you said that you would have changed your mind then we would have put you to death but because we feel you did not mean any kind of disrespect or offense then we have decided to let you live.  However there is one condition and that condition must be followed to the letter of the law.  If at any time it is determined you do not follow through then the council will find you in contempt and you will receive a harsh judgment.  You must spent time with both Re and Bastet.  “Mars” said no problem it would be an honor. 

Suddenly a loud noise bangs somewhere off the podium area and every one turns to look and Mars wakes up and realizes that he is in his cat bed in his master’s living room and there are no friends, gods, goddess or is he really in Egypt.  He is in his home where he belongs and he has no powers at all.  

Tell me what you think.

